BBO Discussion Forums: Off shape and/or out of rang 1NT opening - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Off shape and/or out of rang 1NT opening

#1 User is offline   SimonFa 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:Bridge, golf, sailing (yachts and dinghies),

Posted 2012-February-10, 13:04

I started playing Robot Tournaments about 6 weeks ago because I wanted more of a challenge from MBC to be able to analyse my own game in a competitive environment as it's not something I can regularly do because we don't get dealt hands too often at me bridge clubs.

Ignoring my own stupidity with bad bids and play, often just carelessness more than anything else, I have two areas of weakness:

1. I don't double enough. I've read Matchpoints, twice and will no doubt read it many times, so I no what to do, I either don't remember or erroneously talk myself out of it. I know I need to do a lot more doubling to fix this, even if it means getting it wrong a few times.

2. But the biggest problem I have is recognising when it is correct or at least a good idea to open off shape of out of range 1NT.

Are there any general rules I should be following or isn't it that simple?

Can anyone recommend any good articles or books as I would like to get a feel for this area of bidding as it really is costing at both IMPs and MPs, more so than my own stupidity.

As always, thanks in advance,

Simon

PS I suppose the other side of this debate is when not to open 1NT when in range and shape.

#2 User is offline   wyman 

• Redoubling with gusto
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Math, Bridge, Beer. Often at the same time.

Posted 2012-February-10, 13:20

Simon,

You might want to look at some of jdonn's posts at Bridge Winners. He has a series there titled "Breakin' the Rules." In particular, he has an article on off-shape 1N and another on upgrades into and out of 1N.